Simon Rose, Director of talent for Aviawest, “helps people live better” (personal communication, February 18, 2010). Aviawest is more than a stereotypical timeshare property; in fact, it operates as a vacation resort. Having not heard about Aviawest prior to this presentation, I was presently surprised to find that this company had merged the service and atmosphere of a hotel with the real-estate benefits of owning property. Through this presentation two concepts interested me the most: the concept of time shares and Aviawest’s hiring process. This paper will my reflection on the two concepts and will demonstrate what I learnt from Simon Rose’s presentation

When one google’s timeshares they are faced with a myriad of possible options. Fourth on this list is  Resort Condominiums International (RCI), which is the association Aviawest belongs. Their “Vacation exchange” properties offer hundreds of global options to visit (Resort Condominiums International (RCI), 2010). I was amazed how accurately Simon Rose illustrated the image of the timeshare industry. When asked what AviaWest’s largest challenge was, Mr. Rose responded “the image of timeshares” (personal communication, February 18, 2010). It seems this industry has a nasty reputation of “being the biggest scam on the market today”(Dave Ramsey, 2009) I did a bit of research on the topic and discovered that in order to rebrand timeshares their owners must dispose of the derogatory name and re-educate their sales staff to be transparent, honest and ethical. A profitable timeshare must, in my opinion, illustrate itself as a hotel that offers ownership. They must remove the uncomfortable sales atmosphere, which people speak about after a vacation to Mexico (Ted Wykes, personal communication, February 18, 2010). This is truly a great challenge, and I am surprised there is such negative response over the concept of timeshares.

The art of finding a job or hiring an applicant is a skill like any other and must be practiced to get better. I was never naturally good at creating resumes or cover letters and still today I am no professional. The process of creating your personal brand takes time, energy, research, and self-reflection. As a writer for the Rockport Institute website suggests “a resume is a one-of-a-kind marketing communication”(2010). I believe this resonates with Mr. Rose’s presentation on February 18, 2010. Simon Rose discussed the importance of remaining genuine while engaging the interviewer during the resume/application process (personal communication, February 118, 2010). When he first said this, it did not seem any different from what other people have told me in the past. Until later Thursday evening, I looked back over my job hunt history and applied what Mr.Rose said to my life. During my interview process, I would portray an image of what I thought was their ideal candidate. After speaking with Simon Rose I realized the interview processes is a two-way communication; it is a chance for both parties decide if the job, in question, is the right fit for that individual. I never truly understood the importance of this prospect until now. The prospect becomes even more important when I begin applying for my internship. I must use this interview process to ask questions and screen prospective employers. For example, if I was interviewing at Aviawest, I know they have a great employee selection program, so I would probe into specific information about their “F+A+S=T” program. (Simon Rose, personal communication, February 18, 2010). These questions would benefit both Aviawest and me; these questions would illustrate each party’s personality and assist in making a final employment decision.

Simon Rose breaks down “F+A+S=T” in to three applicant traits: fit, attitude, skill. Examination of specific interview questions, should deliver facts to draw a personality picture that Mr. Rose can use to determine the applicants quality. It is this selection process, which fascinates me. Simon Rose spoke about how asking questions, which have no initial bearing to the actual interview can, evaluate an applicant’s attitude and fit. A concept so simple, yet I never thought these initial questions played a part in the actual selection process. It is this icebreaker conversation at the advent of the interview, which may have the greatest impact during the interview process. Mr. Rose explained if an interviewee does not illustrate the traits which Aviawest’s company culture seek, they do not get hired, no matter their experience (personal communication, February 18, 2010). I was amazed at how confident Mr. Rose was on this point. During his presentation I thought, how could Simon Rose turn down a highly qualified applicant on the basis of their attitude? However, as the presentation unfolded it began to become clear that if a person’s personality does not fit the company’s culture, no matter their qualifications the company and employee would never synchronize their interests. For instance, “Aviawest look for dynamic people to carry their corporate image; I hire people who are ambitious and show integrity” (Simon Rose, personal communication, February 18, 2010). Aviawest looks for a decisive applicant who has the ambition to assert his/her personality to create an engaging conversation. I find fascinating the complex situation which hiring a new employee illustrates. It seems that only experience, in the interview process, can prepare either party for a smooth and effective interview.

This presentation has inspired me, once again, in my quest for an internship position. Although not all human resource managers operate around the same company culture as Simon Rose, Aviawest has the culture, which I desire for my career. Using the Aviawest company culture as a model, I can research prospective internship employers and question if their company resonates with my ideal culture. This type of pre-interview preparation reduces the chance I will apply at a hotel, which is not parallel with my personality. The most interesting point to this presentation was that the interview is a conversation. It must be a two-way dialog to determine whether the company and employee can work together to accomplish their similar goal.

References

Ramsey, D. (2009, May 27). The truth about timeshares. Message posted to http://www.daveramsey.com

The Rockport Institute. (2009). Resumes. Retrieved February 19, 2010, from http://www.rockportinstitute.com/resumes.html

Hiring the Best People is a website that presents tips and statistics on hiring the best person for the job

(http://hiringthebestpeople.com/spotmotivation.html).

